Female Personal Care Assistant / Support Worker required in Farnworth, Bolton – 8-12 hours per week

Good humour, good conversation and good personality?

This is me

Having spent nearly half of the past 3 years in various hospitals, I am now looking to get some form of normality back in my life, but I need help doing it. I am looking for someone who I can build a good friendly relationship with. A good sense of humour is essential along with good conversation skills and likeable personality.

Although I have other issues (pacemaker, PTSD, depression) the condition that affects my mobility is FND – Functional Neurological Disorder. Basically, the messages between my brain & my muscles don’t get through properly. I use a wheeled walking frame to walk and do a very good zombie impression LOL. I have limited hand/arm use and struggle with intricate tasks such as writing, tying laces, shaving, washing etc.

There is no cure, and no real treatment for the condition, although I do see a psychologist to help me cope mentally with my situation. Although diagnosed with PTSD & depression, I am in control of my mental health and pose absolutely no risk. An introduction to my Care Coordinator can be arranged if required for reassurance.

Where I need help….

Mobility

I go to a nice gym twice a week for physio/mobility exercises, swimming, Jacuzzi/hydro pool. I need help around the centre but you are welcome to use the facilities with me if you wish. There is private changing where I need help un/dressing & showering. I like to have a drink or lunch afterwards, where you would of course join me at no cost to yourself.

I need transportation here. I have a blue badge for disabled parking and my walker folds flat (ish) and fits in most boots.

Housework

It is important to me for you to ‘help me’ with this rather than you just doing everything for me, thereby keeping some independence and self-worth. My version of housework also involves a coffee and a chat, is very lighthearted and basically tidying and keeping on top of things.

Socialising

I really would like to start doing ‘normal’ activities again, whether it be shopping, cinema, lunch, visiting tropical fish stores or just going to places of interest.

NB: I will pay for petrol, and absolutely everything that we do/buy.

Getting along and keeping things ‘light-hearted’ are crucial to my well-being, so please bring your sense of humour.  

The rates of pay and benefits 

£10.00 per hour

You will receive paid holidays and the opportunity for training relevant to your role.

Successful applicants must be eligible to work in the UK. This post is subject to DBS checks the cost of which will be met by your employer.

Apply

Consider the Job Description before completing our online Application Form quoting job reference: BTA/MD

Let us Help You

We can assist you to be confident in making good plans and choosing the right options to get the support you need.

CALL: 0300 303 3064